7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2014 7:46 PM by A.T. Romano

Avchd video looks bad when I play it in elements

the-outdoorsman

Hello everyone. This is my first post on here. I am new to elements so I hope you can bare with me. I was watching my videos from Yellowstone on my tv through my video camera (Sony HDR-CX430V) and they look very good. I wanted to upload some of my videos to youtube so I copied the entire contents of my sd card to my pc. Then I used the add media to import the video to elements 12. When I play the video back in full screen it looks very grainy, not anywhere near the quality I was watching on my tv. I am not sure what could be wrong. I am running windows 8.1 64-bit and 8 gigs of memory. AMD Phenom II x4 810 Processor 2.60 GHz. Video card is a Radeon HD 3200. My monitor is a LG 27" widescreen set to 1920x1080. Could it be my video card that is not able to play back AVCHD videos correctly?

• 1. Re: Avchd video looks bad when I play it in elements
          A.T. Romano Level 7

the-iytdiirsnan

Premiere Elements 12 on Windows 8.1 64 bit. Have you updated 12 to 12.1 using a project's Help Menu/Update? If not. please do so.

And, please clarify - did any of your imports ever get to export or is your question all about the previewing of your import in the Edit area monitor of the project?

What are the properties of what you are putting on the Expert workspace Timeline...

video compression

audio compression (stereo or 5.1 channel)

frame size

frame rate

interlaced or progressive

pixel aspect ratio

file extension

duration

From what I have read of your camera, you could be recording 1920 x 1080p24 or 1920 x 1080p60 as "AVCHD" or "Mp4" format. Is the AVCHD.mts and the other AVCHD.mp4 or other? Once we know the properties of your source media, then

What are you or the project setting for the project preset so that the properties of the source video match the description of the project preset? Please see