2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2014 1:04 AM by try67

Checkboxes and varibles in variable names?

Kerberos

I'm not sure the title is too clear for what I'm looking for so I shall clarify.

Normally I try to use Google ninja skills to figure this out, but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere.

The problem, first and foremost is that when a checkbox is unchecked, it's value is set to "Off". If I could change that to "0" it would save me heaps of trouble. Currently I have the checked value set to "1".

I would also like to clarify that I am a relative novice when it comes to java, although I have tinkered with Lua and Ruby in the past so program logic makes some sense to me. But forgive me for any blatant mistakes or shortcuts I might be overlooking.

The question is simple. If any of 5 checkboxes are checked I want the total cumulative value to be positive.

Untitled.png

This is what I'm working with, making an interactive D&D character sheet for me and some friends. Was supposed to make life simpler over paper, but now it's a personal challenge.

Boxes are numbered/listed as follows S_(Skill) [Such as Appraise, Bluff, etc.], A skill modifier. In the case of this image the relevant Mod is INT. Then we have the proficiency checkboxes. Due to there being over 40 skills, with up to 5 classes I opted to use the Multiple copy function to parse them out for me. They have been numbered as such. 1.n.i, with "n" being the row and "i" being the column. Both starting at zero. (1.0.0, 1.0.1, 1.0.2, 1.0.3, 1.0.4. Then the next row for Bluff. 1.1.0 1.1.1 etc.) Then we have Ranks invested in the skill. Ranks.n (Again. "n" being the row.) Then RFS.n and Misc.n. Same logic. And, if applicable the Armor Check Penalty which is universal. There is also the factor of whether the skill can be used untrained or not.