6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2014 12:13 AM by ssprengel

Lightroom library is almost 5gb after importing photos

dmcnickle

I am new to Lightroom 5 and just imported about 4000 photographs.  I just added them to Lightroom since they were already on my hard drive.  I was amazed an confused why the Lightroom library file is almost 5 gb.  I have yet to do anything else except import.  I didn't think the library file would start to get large until I started processing and editing the files.  What can I do to not have my library file get so huge, or is this what I can expect with Lightroom?

• 1. Re: Lightroom library is almost 5gb after importing photos
          dj_paige Level 9

Is it the entire folder that contains your Lightroom catalog, including subfolder ending with Previews.LRDATA, that is 5GB?

Or is it the .LRCAT file itself that is 5GB?

• 2. Re: Lightroom library is almost 5gb after importing photos
            DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

There are two files that are created of significance the Lightroom catalog file which is the database file with an extension of .LRCAT(.lrcat) and the Previews file with an extension of .PREVIEWS.LRDATA (.previews.lrdata). My info is as follows

Number of photos in my Catalog 27,497, the Catalog file is 408 MB and the Previews file is 28GB. The previews file can grow very large particularly if you create a lot of 1:1 previews. My actual folder that contains my original photo files is 296GB (This folder also contains some rendered files jpegs, tiffs which are not in the catalog..

What you are seeing is not unusual.

• 3. Re: Lightroom library is almost 5gb after importing photos
              dmcnickle Level 1