9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2014 3:45 PM by bogiesan

how to stack the advanced lightning effect

Ninjo X Level 1

I am very new to after effects... in fact this is only my day 2 on the 30 day trial version... I came up with an idea to add a bit of flare to a short video I'm making where i would point in several directions, have lightning leap from my fingers and create many different colored letters out of the lightning effect in the frame, I can't seem to get it to work however, I am placing each lightning in it's own layer, but only the first one seems to have any movement and I also seem to be trapped into only altering the color of one bolt instead of several... I realize this is likely a very unusual question, but I actually have big plans for it down the road and would appreciate any advice or tricks that I could employ to make this work? (while typing this I thought of potentially layering each lightning bolt in different compositions then combining them in premiere or after effects... I realize this would be very time consumptive, but is it possible? If not would there be some other way??)

• 1. Re: how to stack the advanced lightning effect
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Use many layers and animate the start and end points of the lightning.

• 2. Re: how to stack the advanced lightning effect
            Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Ninjo X wrote:

I actually have big plans for it down the road and would appreciate any advice or tricks that I could employ to make this work?

My advice is to start here: Getting started with After Effects

Seriously.

You should not be messing with the Advanced Lightning effect on your second day with AE. That is a ticket to frustration. AE is way too powerful of a program to just jump into. You must get a solid foundation in how it works. You have to learn to walk before you learn to run.  And you have to learn to crawl before you can walk.