7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2007 9:27 AM by Greg Dove

What is wrong?

Nigs
      I am a novice and admit that I am really struggling. So, what do I want to do? I have created a slideshow where the user can go forwards and backwards but I also wnat the user to be able to go back to the beginning at any point. I have got my manuals out and searched but nothing is working. The code I am using is

stop();
      //start button
      start_btn.onRelease = function() {
      gotoAndStop("start");
      };

I have also tried using just frame 1 as opposed to the frame label I have assigned.

I am also experiencing an error message with this code (the back button)

stop();
      //back button
      back_btn.onRelease = function() {
      prevFrame();
      };

However it still works OK and people who have tested the slideshow have reported no errors.

I would be grateful if anyone could offer any advice.
        • 1. Re: What is wrong?
          MurMeeKeer Level 1
          Hi,

Attach your code to the objects and not to the frames. (Use on(release) handler for the buttons instead of start_btn.onRelease=function())
          • 2. Re: What is wrong?
            Nigs Level 1
            I thought that I had attached the script to the buttons (objects)? I tried to use on(release) handler and I got errors where there were none before. I have tried uploading the Flash file but this is also failing to upload.
            • 3. Re: What is wrong?
              MurMeeKeer Level 1
              It's working just fine for me. I don't know where you are missing.
              • 4. Re: What is wrong?
                Nigs Level 1
                I have just uploaded the file I am working on. This is to be the basis from which all the others will work from.

The file is www.ultimate-top-trumps.co.uk/WWII_Warships3.zip

I am completely new to Flash and Actionscript but I want to desperatley understand it and use it to display my collection.
                • 5. What is wrong?