3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2014 5:20 PM by A Happy Pumpkin

3ds Max and AE Help.

A Happy Pumpkin

Hi, I'm new here. I guess I should start by saying I'm looking to make a short film based off of a popular video game. I have a few shots for testing some of the effects I plan on using, but recently I got stuck. I'm new to After Effects but I know SOME basic stuff. So here's my problem..

I made a Windmill and before I made anything else, I wanted to see if I could get it into the shot on my own. I immediately ran into trouble. Since I'm new to this, things didn't come out how I had planned.

Help.jpg

I went through the Compositor Link nonesense and got the Windmill in. Unfortunately I didn't get a screenshot of the Mill in 3ds, but I'm sure you can tell here in AE it darkened and doesn't look right at all. All I did was import it through the Autodesk compositor link and that's about it. How do I fix this? While I'm at it, masking the trees to partially cover the Windmill is gonna be obnoxious I'm sure, how should I go about that as well?

After Effects CC Version 12.0.0.404

• 1. Re: 3ds Max and AE Help.
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You need to check your Gamma settings for rendering stuff and the textures in MAX and possibly check your project color settings and footage interpretation in AE. Nothing so much to do with AE actually. This is basic stuff. The rest is beside the point. Yes, masking is tedious even with Rotobrush and Refine Edge, but there can't be a magic button for everything. Or how do you think this stuff is done on movies? There's armies of poor roto artists doing this all day for a living...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: 3ds Max and AE Help.
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP