8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2014 11:58 AM by kel858

color calibrating monitor

kel858

Hello, I am new to the pro photography/editing world and I am looking for recommendations for monitor color calibration systems.  I am currently using a 13 inch macbook air.  There are so many on the market I don't know where to start.  I am looking for something that can automatically adjust the calibration for whatever light I happen to be sitting in at the moment- perhaps something with a sensor?  I am not trying to break the bank.  I see that the Spyder4 and X-Rite are popular.  If you can give me your recommendations/model name that would be great!!

• 1. Re: color calibrating monitor
          Keith_Reeder Level 4

Not sure why you'd think this was an on-topic question for a Lightroom forum?

• 2. Re: color calibrating monitor
            kel858 Level 1

my bad.

• 3. Re: color calibrating monitor
              D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Keith_Reeder wrote:

Not sure why you'd think this was an on-topic question for a Lightroom forum?

Not sure why you think correct display of your files is irrelevant? Are all hardware-related discussions off-topic? All discussions on color management? If you think that, I suggest you just stay out of those threads and concentrate on the threads you find relevant.

Meanwhile, I'll be happy to answer.

Generally, you have the right idea in that your working environment will influence your perception. But an automatic adjustment of your calibration introduces so many uncontrollable factors that it's practically unworkable. It will only confuse you. Some calibrators have an option to adjust display brightness automatically, but the general advice is to disable that.