2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2007 10:20 PM by thedex1

Working with XML and Button

thedex1
      Hi,

How are all of you. Well I am new to Flex. But I have started building simple applications. One of the top most problem I am facing is working with XML and Button. Can you please assist me in this. I am explaining my problem:

I have an external XML file like this:
      <Menu>
      <button>
      <idnt>0</idnt>
      <label>General Health</label>
      <text>General Health pages is currently under construction</text>
      </button>
      <button>
      <idnt>1</idnt>
      <label>Mental Health</label>
      <text>Mental Health pages is currently under construction</text>
      </button>
      </Menu>

Now I want to generate Buttons Dynamically from this XML. And the second thing which is the most problematic is that how I code it so that when I press the Button labled "General Health", it will show the same text as in the XML tag coresponding to tag "<label>General Health</label>" ?
      I badly need this. I am realy confused on this. Kindly help me.

Regards
      ..::DeX
        • 1. Re: Working with XML and Button
          peterent Level 2
          Let's assume that variable "node" contains one element of the XML. For example,
          <button>
          <idnt>0</idnt>
          <label>General Health</label>
          <text>General Health pages is currently under construction</text>
          </button>

such that node.label would be "General Health", node.idnt would be 0, etc.

You can build a Button like this:

var b:Button = new Button();
          b.label = node.label;
          b.data = node; // more on this later
          b.width = 60;
          b.height = 26;
          addChild(b); // critical - adds the button to the display list so you can see it
          b.addEventHandler( MouseEvent.CLICK, handleClick );

You must set the button's width and height unless the button will be in a container that will size its own children (like Tile).