30 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2014 8:51 AM by rob day

Issues with my .ai logo

chhc2304 Level 1

I am new to InDesign and Adobe prodpucts.  The company I work for already has all their logos created in .ai and .eps   However, when I upload the .ai file into my document the color is dull, almost like there is transparency applied to it.  But I checked that, and there is not.  I did an example save of the document in my print ready pdf, and the logo did not appear normal there either.  Does anyone know why this may be an issue?

What confuses me more is, I created a rack card a couple weeks ago in powerpoint and I had the printer put the design into Indesign because I was still familiarizing myself with it. I gave them the same .ai logo (but the saved powerpoint design I had made I used a jpeg of the logo) and the print came out perfectly.

What is the issue and how can I fix this?

• 2. Re: Issues with my .ai logo
          chhc2304 Level 1

What?  Sorry, but I have no idea what you are trying to tell me.  Could you please elaborate?

• 3. Re: Issues with my .ai logo
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Michael is a moderator and moved your question into the InDesign Forum...

Sounds like the logo has a transparent background or uses an effect like drop shadow, which is also transparency. Try Edit> Transparency Blend Space > Document RGB

• 4. Re: Issues with my .ai logo
              chhc2304 Level 1

Ok, I did this but it is not working.    While I'm working in InDesign the logo appears normal1.png

but when the work is saved to a pdf it looks like this. 

1.png

• 5. Re: Issues with my .ai logo
                Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

You should check if you have applied a transparency effect on following places:

• Illustrator: Fill (look int Appearance Panel)