16 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2009 2:25 AM by OblivionKnight

Newbie - dependable comboBox Flash 8

NcCMbC
      Hi everyone, I've never used this before, so go easy on me. I'm having trouble with getting a dependable combobox functioning. Actually, I don't have a clue. So could someone point me in the direction of a tutorial or functioning example I could download as a guide. I have one for MX, but it has a variable not present in Flash 8 and I have no idea what to do with it or how to recreate it.

Cheers,
        • 1. Re: Newbie - dependable comboBox Flash 8
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          here are the essentials:

• 2. Newbie - dependable comboBox Flash 8
            NcCMbC Level 1
            Thanks, but oh wow, totally over my head. lo and eo are the instance names? It took me hours just to get a combo box that would actually do something when a selection was chosen. Now I'm completely baffled as to how to put two comboboxes on the stage and have the first one provide the list for the second and then for the timeline to jump to a frame when the selection is clicked...
            • 3. Re: Newbie - dependable comboBox Flash 8
              kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
              no, lo is the name of a listener object that's created on line 1. you need change nothing for your application.

eo is an event object that's passed by the object that calls the change method. you need change nothing for your application.

cb is the only thing you need to change to match the instance names of one of your comboboxes.

if you use your first combobox, you'll used the selectedItem's data (probably) to populate your 2nd combobox using the 2nd comboboxes dataProvider property.
              • 4. Re: Newbie - dependable comboBox Flash 8
                NcCMbC Level 1
                I understand now, mostly. Thank you for taking the time to answer my question, I just have one final part that I'm not sure about: