10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2014 2:45 AM by Fred K.

ACR + monitor calibration

Fred K. Level 1

Hi,

I recently calibrated my monitor. I have little experience. Also with color management. Although I know it exists ......

I doubt whether I have done well. To me it seems that the result is slightly on the gray side (file: P1090340F.JPG).

Is this result (file: P1090340F.JPG) a good starting point to see how the final picture will look like (photo center)?

I have the standard (small) JPG + RAW + JPG-from-RAW + XMP + Calibration-screenshots files put on the following link: http://we.tl/JdTOFrwaLw (8 days from now available on WETRANSFER.COM!).

Please advice.

• 1. Re: ACR + monitor calibration
          D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Embed screenshots in your post, don't link to external downloads. I'm not following unknown links.

What calibrator are you using? What monitor are you using it on?

You should realize first of all that calibration consists of two independent parts. The first is a general adjustment of the monitor itself, mainly to set white and black points and gamma. Neutral color balance is set relative to the white point.

The second part is the creation of a monitor profile, which is a detailed description of the monitor in its now calibrated state. This description is based on measurements and uses many more parameters than the calibration. This is important. Color managed applications convert, on the fly and as you work, from the document profile to the monitor profile, and those modified RGB values are sent to the display. Applications that are not color managed don't do this conversion, and just send the RGB values straight through to the display.

The implication of this last paragraph is this: Color managed and non-color managed applications don't display identically, even with a calibrated monitor. Let this sink in. Only trust software with full color management.

• 2. Re: ACR + monitor calibration