5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2007 8:32 AM by maguskrool

XML not loading, I guess

maguskrool Level 1
      Hi. I've been working on this website:

http://www.ritabotelho.com/index04.html

The main .swf gets a bunch of info from an .xml file, and only after it successfuly loads all that info does it show the site's contents. What I'm getting are very inconsistent results. Sometimes everything works, sometimes something, I'm not sure what, doesn't.

See the attached code. When the xml loads correctly the .swf should go to the next frame, where authoring-time menus should be visible. I placed a visible MovieClip on the 1st frame as well and whenever the site fails, it doesn't however, remain on the 1st frame, because the MovieClip disappears. It doesn't go to the 2nd frame as it is supposed to, however. So where does it go? Any ideas on what might be causing this? I'm quite new to XML so I'm guessing it might have something to do with it, but it works flawlessly when I test the movie in Flash. I included a sample of what the XML looks like.

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: XML not loading, I guess
          Greg Dove Level 4
          I can't see any error on first glance. The example of the xml you give is very limited though. You need one set of tags enclosing everything in your xml... so in your example you could not have multiple <person> nodes, but inside <person> you could have multiple name and age nodes.
          If you wanted <person> to be repeated, it should be enclosed in something like a top level <people> tag that surrounds everything. This is the XML Object's firstChild and represents the root Node. Apart from any attributes that the root Node might have, you would normally work below that level when you start working with your XML data. Don't know if that's relevant to your issue.
          • 2. Re: XML not loading, I guess
            maguskrool Level 1