2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2014 6:54 AM by bthompsonjr

How To Create a Vanishing in Water Effect in AE?

bthompsonjr

It's my understanding that the visual effect of vanishing in water like done in these videos http://youtu.be/7hm_wHVumjk and http://youtu.be/el5TwST_Hso can be created in After Effects.

I'm a novice to AE and wanted to know if someone could tell me how it's done?

Thanks

• 1. Re: How To Create a Vanishing in Water Effect in AE?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The first think you should do when you try and break down a visual effects shot is to figure out what elements you need and then plan a way to get them. In the Ice Bucket shot you are going to need at least 3 elements. You need a shot with a clean background, a shot with the guy dumping the water on his head, and a shot with just the bucket falling. This shot also has a moving camera so you have to make some plans so the part where the water falls is shot from very close to the same angle. This can be accomplished buy simply putting some kind of catcher on a stand to move your camera into so that it gets to the same spot for all 3 takes. A simple L braced on a tripod would give you a target to aim for as you are moving the camera.

Now first you shoot the clean plate. You don't need to shoot the whole move here, just shoot from the camera catcher and make sure you have framed things up properly.

Now it's time to do the shot with the guy dumping the water on his head. Rehearse your move a couple of times and then shoot it for real.

The last part of the shooting is the water bucket falling to the ground. This will require two assistants to stand on either side of the actor and hold a the tub of water. You don't care if they are in the shot because you are just going to mask them out anyway. You start with the camera in the catcher and shoot the dropping of the water.