7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2014 12:13 AM by Trevorׅ

Is it possible to run the script every time i select a TextFrame

MohamedYousif

Hi all,

I am new to JavaScripting and i have a question and problem. I have a set of linked text frames, what i need is when the user click to select any text frame, the script automatically initiated and  select all Linked text frames. Is it Possible to do ??? and if Yes how can i do that.

Thanks in advance,

• 1. Re: Is it possible to run the script every time i select a TextFrame
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

@Mohamed – to write a script, that can react to the selection of a text frame is possible.
          That would be an event driven script that uses an eventlistener that reacts on an afterSelectionChanged event.

To select all threaded text frames (containers) of a story is only possible for the ones on a single spread.
          Any user selection of page items can only be spread wise. Opposed to text where you can select the whole story with the text tool that can span several spreads.

On the other hand: To do something to all threaded text frames (containers) of a story (without selecting them) is possible, if you provide your own user interface where the user has to interact with or let the script work in the background totally automatically.

What likes the user to do after "all" possible text frames of a story are selected or reached?

Uwe

• 2. Re: Is it possible to run the script every time i select a TextFrame
            MohamedYousif Level 1

Laubender, It's great to hear that it possible to do, but can you refer me to a documentation or any thread to learn how to write an eventlistener.

• 3. Re: Is it possible to run the script every time i select a TextFrame

@Mohamed – before doing anything with an eventlistening process or writing some code or suggesting something, I have to know the whole story (still not answered for me):