6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2007 12:57 PM by Newsgroup_User

leaving the flash world

Aquilonian Level 1
      Hi, im a flash game developer who always wanted to step up to Director and his 3d powers.However, there are some points about the 'director' world that are not so clear, i hope some of you guys can put some ligth into it
      First, whenever i tried to learn director i found extremely difficult.I mean, his help doesnt have examples like the flash one does, and there are soo many more things to learn than in flash, so; i would like to know from you guys, how much learning time is needed to have something done in director?
      Second, i always heard about this 'Xtra' stuff and had never understand it completely, i mean, if i make some game in director using an xtra, the players have to download this xtra too to play it?
      Thrid, is possible to make a game in a projector for it to work as if it was a complete program, i mean, with installer, icons and serials to activate it?
      Fourth...does it worth it?I mean, if you spend a lot of time to make a game, is there a market for it?I mean, how do you make money with it?Do you have to license it, put adds on it or what?And after you made it, are you given a good reward?I mean, can you make a living on it?
      How much time is needed to finish a project?I mean, if you dont work in a team, and you use it to make a living on it, not as a hobby
      Why there are so many tutorials and foruns about lingo and nothing about javascript?Comming from actionScript, make things work in Director with javascript is a lot easyer, but everyone only teaches lingo... :(
      Should i give up javascript and learn lingo?
      Do you have problems with people stoling and decompiling your Director games?I suspect not, but i want to be sure, as this is very important to me