3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2014 7:41 PM by areohbee

How do I create filenames with sequential numbering?

dsirjuesingh

I am new to LR5, being an Aperture user for years, but since Apple are now longer going to update Apertire I made the switch, and happy that I did. But I have lots to learn and will have many questions for the coominuty.

Lets start with a simple one.

When exporting I have created my own filename to keep commonality with what I have been doing for years. However I want to know if its possible to have LR5 keep a running filename number. Each time I expert I have to choose a number to start with, why can't it remember the last

number it used and go from there?

Any suggestions?

Thanks--D

• 1. Re: How do I create filenames with sequential numbering?
          areohbee Level 5

It might help to explain the purpose.

I mean, Lightroom does not support remembered sequence number for exporting, but for most people, it's not a problem, because:

* they're either exporting a whole new set (and so continuing a sequence number is not desired), or

* they're using publishing services (and overwrite previous export with new copy, and so don't use sequence numbers at all).

A continued sequence number would be easy enough to implement via a plugin, but so far there hasn't been much demand (that I am aware of), and I dunno if you'd use a plugin for that anyway, or just do without..

Rob

• 2. Re: How do I create filenames with sequential numbering?
            bogiesan Level 4