9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2014 1:57 AM by eliverrang

Play to keyframe from arbitrary start.

GarethConner

Hi,

I'm new to Edge Animate and trying to figure out something simple that I previously made in Hype.  I have an interactive graphic that shows a list of product features.  As the user clicks on a feature, the relevant physical area of the product is highlighted and a brief text description is shown.  An example of the desired effect can be found here.

The highlights should slide around and reshape to fit the desired area of the product.  Since the user may click on a feature in random order, I need a way to animate to a keyframe from an unknown or arbitrary starting keyframe.  So far, I have figured out how to animate a symbol to pick up and play a timeline from a labeled point, but can't grasp how to "Play To" a point rather than "Play From".  I have also used "Stop At" a label, but then the elements snap to the keyframe position rather than gracefully easing into the new desired position.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.  This was pretty straightforward to do in Hype, so I imagine I'm just barking up the wrong tree in Edge.

• 1. Re: Play to keyframe from arbitrary start.
          GarethConner Level 1

To add a little more info I looked up the Hype terminology.  In Hype the effect is produced using "Relative Keyframes".  This is an excerpt from their docs: