7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 5, 2014 11:21 AM by A.T. Romano RSS

Use PE Organizer or Lightroom to Catalog Videos + Storage Questions

Ralph McMurphy

Hello everyone. I'm re-entering the video arena after several years and have purchased a new entry level HD camcorder and plan on using Premier Elements for editing home videos. Nothing professional, just home movies, youth sports, stuff like that.

I have been an avid stills photographer however and have defined a workflow that I'm comfortable with. With stills - usually RAW files, I import them to an external hard drive first, import them into Lightroom, then proceed to catalog and keyword them appropriately.

Question 1: I know my way around Lightroom and it does allow for the cataloging and keywording of video files. I see that PE 12 has an organizer built into the program. Is there any advantage of me using PE's Organizer over Lightroom? They are all Adobe products, I'm just wondering if there is some sort of integration between PE's Organizer and Editor that will buy me an easier workflow or not. Otherwise I'll just use Lightroom.