4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2014 11:28 AM by ECBowen

Haswell-E build for GH4 work

Promit_JHU

I'm building a new machine on the Haswell-E platform. The majority of it is already ordered, but I thought I'd ask and see what people think of how I'm setting it up. I'm not expecting to render particularly complex timelines or effects or more than two streams at a time, but this is a long term sort of machine. Currently I've got:

Core i7-5930K

Asus X99 Deluxe

32 GB (4x8) of DDR4-2400

Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB (OS drive)

2x Geforce GTX 880, when it's released (making do with a pair of 7970s for now)

(misc uninteresting cooling and power bits)

Not too worried about that part, as nothing I'm doing suggests that I should go nuts and build a dual Xeon type of system. Quadros/FirePros are also unacceptable, for a variety of reasons. (Chief among them is I'm a game dev.)

The real question is the storage. My plan is:

Samsung 840 Evo 1 TB (general computing data, project drive, FRAPS capture drive)

3x or 4x WD Black 4TB in RAID 0 (the big files)

2 TB Thunderbolt/USB3 drive for transfer purposes

Given that the GH4 files aren't all that big (100 mbit in 4K), I feel like that should be more than adequate. Anyone foresee any spec changes I may want to make?

• 1. Re: Haswell-E build for GH4 work
          JEShort01 Level 4

You are building a really strong single-CPU system and it should have no trouble at all with GH4 files if your system is set up properly. You will read a lot on the www regarding how demanding 4K is to edit, however most of those users are referring to RED 4k and other more professional media formats that are brutal on a system.

For Premiere Pro:

- CPU/motherboard/32GB RAM - just fine; get a good CPU cooler and do a minor OC and it will be even better

- 850 Pro boot drive - 256GB model would be fine for Adobe, only get the larger one if you need it for your game dev. work