1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 1, 2014 10:08 AM by Rick Gerard

Problems with Unified Camera tool

sderemer7

Let me preface this with the fact that I'm very new to After Effects and have been self taught over the last week or so.

Working on creating a 2D-3D fly-through with a landscape photo. Got it set with key-points to fly through the 8 layers from beginning to end, but was working on changing the camera angle at a few points. I was able to use Unified Camera tool to successfully do that, and then all of sudden it stopped working- When I went to click on Unified Camera tool, it shows the icon until I actually click on the screen and then it automatically switches to Orbit Camera tool for some reason. Is there any setting that you know of that I've hit that makes it so that Unified Camera tool won't work?

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 5.30.41 PM.png

• 1. Re: Problems with Unified Camera tool
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You have a double post going here. It's very hard to tell what is going on in your composition because we can't see the layer properties of any of your 3D layers.

I'll post a copy of my answer here:

How are you trying to adjust the camera? I think you are probably going about animating a camera along a path using a very awkward and tiresome workflow. By far the easiest way to animate a camera along a path is to place a null at the same position as your camera, parent the camera to a null, then animate the null. Camera path and the angle of the camera can be animated easily by animating the null even if you have a two node camera. If you have a one node camera you can independently animate the orientation or x, y, or z rotation of the camera independently of the null. This is a better way to work with either type of camera.