7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2014 10:22 AM by A.T. Romano

How to fix speck of dust on video clip; Premiere Elements 9

Stellastar80

Hello

I have a shot in a video which has a spec of dust on the camera lens.  It's only a short clip but it would be really good if I could clean up the spot.  I've looked across this forum and found a few discussions but as I am new to Premiere Elements and video editing language in general I found them hard to understand!  Have had a go at working it out but a few hours later of tearing my hair out I thought I'd pose my own question and see if someone can help!  I can fix the smear in a still in Photoshop using the 'spot heal' tool, just wish there was some similar way of doing it to video in Premiere Elements.

If someone can help I would be very grateful, I had lots of problems trying to put a photo here so I've put it on a blog link here:

http://stellasims.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/still-image-from-pe-9/

You can see the spot just below his collar.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: How to fix speck of dust on video clip; Premiere Elements 9
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Stellastar80

Is this the spot

Spot.JPG

If so, let us do this....Premiere Elements 9.0/9.0.1 assumed on Windows 7, 8, or 8.1 64 bit.

Highlight the clip on the Timeline.

Go to Clip Menu/Effects Mask/Apply

You should then see a bounding box on screen - position that bounding box so that the spot is inside it. Resize the bounding box using one of its

handles so that it is just large enough to house the spot...no excess.

Go to Edit Header/Effects/Presets/Blurs/Fast Blur In, select it and then click Apply.

In Edit Effects, adjust the blur. It can be tricky - often more than a tiny amount does not work.

NoSpot.JPG

Please give it a look and let us know the outcome.

The following blog post was done with Premiere Elements 11, not 9.0/9.0.1 on Windows 7 64 bit. Probably more than you want, but just in case....