9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2014 6:26 PM by [r]Evolution

Renaming (downloaded) Dreamweaver Template

[r]Evolution Level 1

I am new to Dreamweaver. After trying to build my site with it, I decided it would be best to Purchase a Template and modify to my liking.

The template I purchased came with .html files and corresponding folders with the image files & such. Dreamweaver can see everything just fine and displays the pages as one would expect in Design & Live view. Problem is: the file names are way too loooong! I would like to change the name of the .html files & folders to something more manageable.

I've researched and found advice to use the Files Manager in Dreamweaver to change the .html & corresponding folder name.

When I use the Files Manager in Dreamweaver and change the .html, I get asked if, I'd like to Update the Links? I say, Yes. Everything is OK. When I begin using the Files Manager in Dreamweaver and change the name of the folders, Dreamweaver begins to lose file connections and WYSIWYG locations.

Question:

- How can I rename: "This is Your Corporate Site Template.html" & "This is Your Corporate Site Template_files" folder

To something like: "index.html" & "index_files" folder

- Is it possible to save my site in a way that forces all the .html pages to point to the same folder for their images/content?

Naturally, I want to keep the site Look & Functionality.

• 1. Re: Renaming (downloaded) Dreamweaver Template
          Ken Binney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi -

Your subject line says "Dreamweaver Template" which is a very special type of document.which is named with a DWT extension, and is used to generate HTML pages.

Please clarify if this is, or is not the case.

In any case don't clutter up your link paths with a folder for every page.  Put all your pages in the root folder.

You should put a folder named images inside the root folder and place all you images there.

1 person found this helpful