3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2014 6:23 PM by Szalam

Best way to extract uneven white/grey background? (Help!)

TonyOgun

Hello,

I am currently trying to remove the white (greyish) background in the office scene below so i can composite a cityscape background. I am relatively new to this kind of work in after effects. I have tried to luma key out the white but there is too much area of similar white/grey pixels on the foreground to extract just the background. Keylight and all the other keyers have the same problem. I am desperatley trying to avoid rotoscoping. Can anyone recommend a solution to quickly get rid of the white background.

GORDON_STILL.png

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Best way to extract uneven white/grey background? (Help!)
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I am desperatley trying to avoid rotoscoping.

No way. In a world full of choices you made the worst thinkable decision of shooting it the way it is - low contrast, many similarly colored items, fine structures. And did I mention that the refractions from that glass lamp alone will add a level of complication? There simply is nothing here that would allow even the smartest automatic effect to detect anything and masking everything manually is pretty much the only way, which if little ginger head isn't moving around too much might not be that complicated, after all.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Best way to extract uneven white/grey background? (Help!)
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP