2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2014 5:19 AM by A Happy Pumpkin

Copy/Preserve Masks?

A Happy Pumpkin

Hello again, last time I posted here I was on the same project. I've been slowly working on it from time to time, and since I'm new to After Effects I run into problems often.

Forums.jpg

I've got my buildings in, I think I have them all where I want them. I haven't masked my friend through all the frames yet, just a single frame for this post. Somewhere along the way though I decided I wanted the windmill to rotate. The problem is the buildings are all imported through the Autodesk Link as a Targa file. I rendered 300 frames in Max for 2 hours only to realize it would turn out as a single frame because of it being a Targa file. So I figured I'd just have to render it as one of the video files instead. Now I've done a lot of masking and stuff to get things how it currently looks, but if I bring in a new file (for video with the animation) instead of this Targa file I think I'll have to re mask everything. Is there any way I can copy the masks I currently have under my Village_Output.tga and use them for the other file I might use? It would save me a lot of time if I didn't have to basically start over.. Thanks for reading!

• 1. Re: Copy/Preserve Masks?
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Was it rendering Targa files or a Targa sequence? It's always a good idea to render an image sequence out of your 3d software instead of a video file. That way, if something goes wrong in the render, you only have to render the frames that it hasn't completed. If you render right into a video file, you could have a render that goes on over an entire weekend and have nothing to show for it on Monday morning if it glitches on the final frame.