3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2014 6:57 AM by jophotoshop

Accidentally boosted DPI while cropping an image - affect on quality?

chrisedi

Hi,

While cropping some of my jpeg images (orginally 300 dpi) I didn't pay attention to some of the settings and the dpi has now been boosted to 800. Does this have any affect at all on the image quality? I had made other changes too so don't want to start all over again with the original files. I changed one image back to the original 300 dpi and it does not seem to appear different in any way to the 800 dpi image. Sorry if this is a silly question, I'm quite new to all of this. Just want to be sure that my files will have exactly the same quality even with the changed dpi.

Thanks!
      Chris

• 1. Re: Accidentally boosted DPI while cropping an image - affect on quality?
          JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Its hard to guess. Evert time you interpolate an image you wind up with a completely new image.  The number of pixels you have for and image changes.   Going from a large number to a smaller number usually works better then increasing the number of pixels. Usually and your decreasing the number of pixels so the image fits on a low resolution display.  Your basically throwing  away detail for you have more then the display can display at once.  When you print and do not have a sufficient  amount of pixels to print a high resolution print you lack detail so up sample and interpolate the pixels you have a dream up details you lack.

The quality change depends the quality of the original pixels on the output device the size the physical image will be a the delta change in the number of pixels.  If you  throw away too much detail or make up most of the image detail the image quality is low.