4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2014 8:15 AM by Toshiaki Takeuchi

converting files to dng after import

Toshiaki Takeuchi

Hi. Brand-new Lightroom 5 user here. I don't remember the dialog box showing up to ask me at the time of import whether I wanted the pics imported as dng files or not. Now that they're imported, is there a way to tell if they are already dng? I also know how to convert them one at a time, but is there a way to just have them all converted at once? (There are a few hundred.) Also I'm being asked whether I want to only convert RAW files (I'm guessing that this is the case, but let me know if I'm wrong here). And if I want to delete originals after conversion (again, I think I do, but is there a compelling reason not to delete? Can you tell I'm not a professional photographer?)

Thanks much for your help.

• 1. Re: converting files to dng after import
          DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

Hi. Brand-new Lightroom 5 user here. I don't remember the dialog box showing up to ask me at the time of import whether I wanted the pics imported as dng files or not.

See screen capture.

Image00288.jpg

Now that they're imported, is there a way to tell if they are already dng?

When you have one of the files selected the .dng extention will be displayed.

I also know how to convert them one at a time, but is there a way to just have them all converted at once? (There are a few hundred.)

Sellect the files in the grid view Library module and use the Library menu to select "convert to dng" see the screen capture.

Untitled-1.jpg

Also I'm being asked whether I want to only convert RAW files (I'm guessing that this is the case, but let me know if I'm wrong here).

There is really little benefit in converting jpeg or tiff files to dng.

And if I want to delete originals after conversion (again, I think I do, but is there a compelling reason not to delete?