7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2014 6:46 PM by pauledney

How do I force lightroom to (re)load an XMP sidecar file?

pauledney

Good morning from Boston!

I am new to Lightroom and just finished importing my Aperture library into Lightroom 5 on a Mac. For that, I followed the instructions on Adobe's landing page and Lightroom solutions. For those not familiar with the instructions, you essentially export all your originals with an XMP sidecar file and then export all the adjusted/edited files as 16-bit TIFFs. Then you add them all back into Lightroom and get everything back into Catalogs, Labels, Ratings, and such by using keywords that were added while in Aperture. It took forever, but worked pretty well overall. I had about <1% fewer images in LR5 than in Aperture, which were likely suspected duplicates. So far, so good.

Here's is my problem. My keywords didn't always transfer over (the Keywording panel is empty). I did search forums and plug-ins, but seem to only find issues related to EXIF and GPS data. I also used "Metadata:Read Metadata from File" and "Metadata:Update DNG Preview & Metadata," which didn't do anything. I am suspecting that "Read from File" means "read from the image file itself but not from the sidecar file." Take file IMG_5888 as an example. This particular one was taken as RAW (.CR2) + JPEG on a Canon Rebel XS, but I am having the same issue with RAW only on my Canon EOS 6D. Same goes for JPG + XMP. Puzzling thing is that other files loaded just fine.

In the directory/folder where the file is, it looks like this:

IMG_5887.CR2

IMG_5887.JPG

IMG_5887.XMP

IMG_5887.dng

IMG_5888-2.JPG

IMG_5888.CR2

IMG_5888.JPG

IMG_5888.XMP

IMG_5888.dng

IMG_5889-2.JPG

IMG_5889.CR2

IMG_5889.JPG

IMG_5889.XMP

IMG_5889.dng

The .dng were generated by Llightroom. Now, the sidecar files typically have something like so in them (I cut out some keywords for clarity—you get the idea):