11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2009 7:55 AM by Gregory Lafrance

Targeting a specific view State within the second component

James Bower
      For example, I can target a component using click="parentDocument.mainView.selectedIndex=2"; but I need to target a specific view State within the second component. How do I do this?

So I have a button on component "A" (click="parentDocument.mainView.selectedIndex=2") which takes me to component "B". Component "B" has additional States and I want to be able to target one of them.

I tried ( click="parentDocument.mainView.selectedIndex=2;currentState='secondState'") but I get an error.
        • 1. Re: How do I target a view State in a second compenent
          Flex_Coder111
          Instead you can crest one more state and keep the additional state of B there
          • 2. Re: How do I target a view State in a second compenent
            James Bower Level 1
            Thanks for your reply. I realize my question is total newbonics. However your solution would be equal to building another duplicate room somewhere else because I'm not able to enter the one I have at home.

So does Flex only let you drive to your house (read "component B") or to the start/base state of a component (which has other states)? Seems like I can get to the house but I can't access the kitchen (second or third state).

Component A (with button to component B)

Component B (with 3 view states)

I want to be able to target the second or third state.

Sorry for all the redundancy but I need an answer that's something like:

<mx:Button label="Second State" click="parentDocument.mainView.selectedIndex=2;currentState='secondState' "/>

• 3. Re: Peter please help me out here.
              peterent Level 2
              I'm not really sure what you are trying to do, but did:

click="parentDocument.mainView.selectedIndex=2; parentDocument.mainView.currentState='secondState'" ??