11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2014 10:02 PM by Silkrooster

3d model for .dds files from sims 4 help/ponder/confused

Shingara Level 1

Hello all, im just starting out with creating clothes etc for sims 4 and im wondering just what is possible within PS cc. I am able to change textures, layers channels etc of the .dds files but as it stands they are done on a flat surface, my friend has informed me of the amazing possibilities of ps when it comes to 3d modelling. Now what im wondering is can i use the skin mesh that i have managed to get hold of for sims 4 within photo shop as what can best be described as a tailors dummy to place the clothes upon within PS. If it is where do i place the mesh files within the ps folders and how do i get ps to see that the .dds file is tobe placed upon the dummy.

Now if considering the above is doable am i then able to alter the mesh of the clothes items but not effect the dummy as i want the dummy tobe none intractable and unchangeable and only the .dds file i am working on tobe altered. Im also wondering if this is infact possible if it is possible to create items from scratch also from within ps using the technique.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: 3d model for .dds files from sims 4 help/ponder/confused
          Brett N Adobe Employee

The biggest problem you are going to run into here is animation. Photoshop doesn't have the 3D controls to animate your clothing, there will be no way to bind the mesh to the skeleton that animates the model. Any sort of 3D modeling you may accomplish in Photoshop will never bind to your imported characters. It would, at best, just float around your character, sleeves wouldn't move with arms, wouldn't bend with torsos, etc.