3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2014 5:59 AM by SteveD333

Workflow into and out of After Effects

SteveD333 Level 2

I’m just starting to learn how to use After Effects CC, with the help of the associated Adobe “Classroom In A Book” to get me started.  Naturally, I’m keen to start using AE myself with my own projects, but this raised a question I can’t find the answer to.

First, apologies if I’ve posted to the wrong forum, I’ve target the AE forum because this is where I’ve become stuck, and hence the question.  Basically it’s about overall workflow.  Before I ever used After Effects, I’d organise my video clips, and do whatever was needed completely within Premiere Pro. Ultimately, my finished Premiere Pro project would be exported off to Media Encoder and job done!

If I’m working on a clip in Premiere Pro that I feel needs work done to it in After Effects, do I stop working in Premiere Pro and work on that clip in After Effects, bringing the finished clip back to Premiere Pro?  Do I complete my project in Premiere Pro, and import the finished video into After Effects, resuming work on the sections of the finished video that require it?

Workflow wise, I’m just not sure how the process should be followed.  I always work out in advance what I want my (finished) video to be, and when I was working just with Premiere Pro, it was pretty straightforward. I’m just now sure how to proceed efficiently when After Effects becomes involved.

Any advice most welcome.

Steve

• 1. Re: Workflow into and out of After Effects
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You only edit the shots/ takes you need in AE based on your rough cut with a bit of flesh/ handle, then integrate them in Premiere. Nobody processes entire movies in AE unless it is really necessary for very rare and specific resons.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Workflow into and out of After Effects
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP