10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2015 9:06 AM by Luis@def6

Need to split one large high-res video into sub-parts

rjheise

I have a very large high-res video (5760 x 3240) that I would like to split into 9 separate videos, each 1920 x 1080.  These would make up the content of a 3x3 video wall and would be 'stitched' back together by the media players driving the wall.

I am new to After Effects, so sorry if this sounds like a dumb question, but I was told this was possible using AE.

• 1. Re: Need to split one large high-res video into sub-parts
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You simply put the source footage in multiple 1920x1080 compositions and position it accordingly, then render out the comps.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Need to split one large high-res video into sub-parts
            bogiesan Level 4

Are you sure the players are capable of doing the job in sync? The digital signage biz is fairly mature these days but the work I've seen blown up to monster proportions is rarely done with multiple players. It's usually done with a single movie that is scaled and parsed out to individual displays. Be sure you know the hardware before you commit to doing the renders. Also, be sure you and your hardware users agree on what to label the individual bits to avoid confusion and the playback end.

Myl has given you the basic method. Dividing up the master file is a question of precise positioning, right down to the pixel.

Please come back and tell us how your project ended up.

• 3. Re: Need to split one large high-res video into sub-parts
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The easiest way to do this would be do drag your footage into a new comp window, then duplicate the comp 9 times in your project panel, then resize the composition using the advanced sizing controls to break up your video into the 9 comps.

Screen Shot 2014-09-22 at 7.56.09 AM.png

• 4. Re: Need to split one large high-res video into sub-parts