7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2015 12:11 PM by Roy - GCG

font installation help?

ThinkingWeasel Level 1

I have an InDesign file I am trying to edit but it keeps telling me I have missing fonts.

All the fonts are in a file I have but I cant install them because it keeps saying they are invalid file types.

I tried going to Typekit (I have a CC subscription) and downloading there but they don’t come up when I search.

As you can see in this screen capture, the bottom 6 are shown as “file” and have a size of 0kb.

If I change the extension to .tff or .ps they then show a file size but still wont install.

fontz.jpg

• 1. Re: font installation help?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

These 0 kb fonts are all old Mac format fonts and are not usable on Windows.

• 2. Re: font installation help?
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

If a file is beginning with a dot in its name it is under default settings invisible.

The Mac will write to every file on any drive a second file with the very same name but a ._ before. This file does only store how the file is presented (looks like) in the finder. Ignore those files. Go down in you list and take the original files as we can even see them in your screen shot. You can delete the other files here with the dot before without doing any damage.

Don't change the file's extension, it could cause damage.

Myriad Pro is available in the TypeKit.

@ Peter: These are not old files, they are created in the moment when you look at the folder the first time in the Finder.

• 3. Re: font installation help?

Willi, the filenames that start with the dot in the screenshot are the resource forks for the Mac format fonts. I didn't say the files were old, only the that the fonts are old Mac format.

Mac normally hides the resource fork from you, where Windows will display it, but it is not usable by any Windows OS, and in Mac format fonts that's where the actual font data is stored.