9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2014 10:59 AM by A.T. Romano

Premiere Elements 13 crash

Saskwatch

I created a short movie, less than 2 minutes, then tried to render it.  After a few minutes an error message appeared, "problem encountered", and shortly after PE 13 crashed.  It appears that I lost the entire project -- a lot of work!

I'm new to Premiere Elements so perhaps there is still a project file somewhere on my computer?

I was quite happy with the software until this happened but now I'm afraid to continue until I can be sure my work won't be lost.

MacBook Pro

OSX 10.9.4

2.9 ghz i7

8gb ram

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 13 crash
          A.T. Romano Level 7

sakwatch

Did you purchase Premiere Elements 13 Mac or are you working with the tryout from Adobe?

Please define a lot of work on a 2 minute project. Did you have the program opened and working on for at least

20 minutes? If so, you might have been able to gain at least one AutoSave?

I am strictly an Elements Windows user so I am not sure of Mac locations, but consider looking for a possible

AutoSave for your project. In Windows, the default is Libraries/Documents/Adobe/13.0/Adobe Premiere Elements AutoSave Folder.

An aside, my first Premiere Elements 13 Windows 7 64 bit burn to Blu-ray disc format on Blu-ray disc errored out. But, all subsequent operations have been successful.

From one Premiere Elements user to another - do not be discouraged.

Please let us know if you find an AutoSave of the project. AutoSave settings can be customized under Edit Menu/Preferences/Auto Save.

ATR

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 13 crash
            Saskwatch Level 1

ATR... just moments before your reply appeared I successfully located a back-up of the project.  Fortunately I only lost a bit of the work and have now successfully rendered the project (and did a "save as" just in case.