5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2014 8:18 AM by Szalam

Endless crashes rendering with After Effects CC

zirconst

System:
      Windows 7 Pro 64bit (all latest updates)

16gb RAM

i5-2200k processor

GTX780 video card

Latest version of After Effects CC

To preface this, I am a novice to After Effects but fairly experienced with other video editing software such as Sony Vegas.

I have been trying to render a simple downloaded audio visualizer/react template for the last 4 days and every time I get some kind of crash. The template has a few layers and particle effects which react to an audio layer.

First it was blue screens of death, usually with the "MEMORY MANAGEMENT" blue screen error about 10-20% into the render. Of course I ran a Windows memory diagnostic, which found no problems. I'm able to use + render from Vegas and Premiere no problem also, I might add, which would seem to indicate that it is not a hardware problem. The system is stable otherwise. I have AE set to use 12gb of RAM - multiprocessing I've tried both ways, on/off. Eventually I found a user suggestion to reduce voltage to my RAM via my BIOS, which I did, and that seemed to stop the blue screen problems.

Next, I would get errors such as "A crash occurred while invoking plugin..." anywhere from 50% to 80% through the render. The exact plugin varied. All are default AE plugins, no 3rd party stuff. For example, one crash occurred with the basic hue/saturation plugin, another with glow. These do not occur ion load or on normal playback. I have tried using the secret preferences to purge every 30 frames, turned off RAM preview, etc.