10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2006 6:09 PM by ntsiii

Can't browse to MXML files?

Ryan Stille Level 1
      I am new to Flex. I've installed the Flex Data Services and the ColdFusion MX 7 updater 2 on my server (windows 2k).

But when I browse to my sample .mxml file in my web browser (firefox), I just get prompted to save the file to my computer - the server isn't rendering it. I am able to compile the mxml file on my local machine using mxmlc.exe, but I thought I was supposed to be able to just browse directly to the files, too, and have the server compile it into flash?
        • 1. Re: Can't browse to MXML files?
          JFAM
          Browse to the sample using an http://yourserver:port/context/sample.mxml.
          I hope this helps.
          • 2. Re: Can't browse to MXML files?
            Ryan Stille Level 1
            That helped a little, it made me remember something about starting a built in server, so after a little research I went to the Start menu and ran "Start Integrated Flex Server'. Then I was able to browse to port 8700 of my webserver, and pull up some of the *.mxml demo files.

But how do I get it setup so I can just place mxml files on my regular webserver (IIS) and browse to them and have Flex compile them into SWF files?
            • 3. Re: Can't browse to MXML files?
              JFAM Level 1
              Flex Data Services is a java webapp (a WAR), so you need to deploy it onto a J2EE server. Flex Integrated Server is a JRun server, with flex webapp already deployed. if you want IIS forward the HTTP request sto the appropriate application server, you will need a connector (i.e. IIS/JRun 4 connector).
              Actually, the "integrated flex server" is oriented to development purposes, if you only want to evaluate flex, there is no need to make a production set-up (IIS - J2EE - Flex).
              • 4. Re: Can't browse to MXML files?
                ntsiii Level 3