13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2007 12:08 AM by kglad

depth management

Sketchsta Level 1
      Hey guys, this is my first time trying to use mx.transitions so if im doing something wrong there, please point it out..

the idea is, each Folder Image will be a separate page which will load external swf files, but i need to get the animations working first..
      I can get each folder to move to depth(1); no problem, but i would like it to go back to it's original position when a different folder is clicked.
      how would i say for example, when a button is clicked, whatever is in depth(1); remove back to original depth, and the corresponding folder symbol move to depth(1);

the folder symbols are on separate layers, on _root timeline...do they have to be on the same layer?
      this is the code i have to bring them to depth(1);

btn.onRelease = function(){
      _root.six.swapDepths(1);
      }
      this works, but i dont know how to move it back to original depth when a different folder comes into depth(1);

I would also like the symbols to have a _alpha property of 40, then if they are in depth(1); Tween _alpha to 100. and Tween back to 40 if not in depth(1);
      this is what i have on _root timeline, trying to achieve this.. it's not working tho. when i test movie, they tween to _alpha 100 and stay there.
        • 1. Re: depth management
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          if _root.six is the first movieclip to be swapped into depth 1 and _root.seven is then swapped into depth 1, _root.six will be swapped into _root.seven's original depth.