11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2014 9:18 AM by JUGFA

how do i get my blacks blacker

JUGFA

I'm a beginner: How do i get my black background blacker so my projected image (my graphic is raindrops raining) appears suspended in space

• 1. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

There are many ways. The Levels effect and Curves effect are good ways to make adjustments like these.

After Effects Help | Color Correction effects

Start here to learn After Effects:

http://adobe.ly/AE_basics

• 2. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
            bogiesan Level 4

There is a limit, though. Zero is as low as you can go as a color. You'll want to have your histograms and waveforms open (advanced functions, see the manual/online help files).

However, your projector may not be able to show black. A projector allows light from a very source to pass through an LCG panel. The LCD must be able to completely become opaque and that is not a function in many economical projectors. Couple of issues. An LCD that is opaque can overheat. If all layers of the black pixels are on, they can lag a bit as they turn off to allow other colors to be created. Might be easier to make your raindrops brighter white but there are limits to that, too.

• 3. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
              JUGFA Level 1

Thanks You !   I'll try it out !

• 4. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
                JUGFA Level 1

Thanks You !   I'll try it out !

• 5. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
                  JUGFA Level 1

Any other tips to me FROM ANY BODY ELSE to a AE novice?....

How do i get my projected blacks to be black (or be a blackout) on the wall ? (they are good on computer, but I can see the background rectangle I composed upon on the wall)

• 6. Re: how do i get my blacks blacker
                    DESIGNbySAFIY Level 2