2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2014 7:59 AM by lizparker.net

Batch change page size of InDesign documents

lizparker.net

I have about 300 one-page InDesign (cc 2014, Mavericks) documents of varying page sizes. Each page is 4 inches wider and 4 inches taller that the content of the page. The content is in the middle of the page—effectively making a 2-inch margin (but with no margin guides) around the content. What I need to do is get the page of all documents to be one specific page size, 7.125” x 9.75”.

I was able to accomplish this by putting all the docs in a book, making a master page 7.125” x 9.75” on one doc, synching the other docs, and then opening each doc and applying the master page. The last bit was a little labor intensive and I would like to avoid it going forward.

Could a script be written that opens selected InDesign docs (in or not in a book) and changes the various page sizes to the one size needed? I’ve never written scripts before so have no idea if it is possible or how to do it.

I put the following on another forum and got help but it required that I have control over the creation of the original docs. And I don’t. “Is there a way to globally apply a master page to all pages of all docs in a book?”

Any help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Batch change page size of InDesign documents
          BEGINNER_X Level 3

Hi,

Is this your requirement,

var myFolder = Folder.selectDialog("Select the Folder contains Indesign Files")

var myFiles = myFolder.getFiles("*.indd")

alert("Total Indesign Files: " + myFiles.length)

for(i=0; i<myFiles.length; i++)
          {
              app.open(myFiles[i])
              app.scriptPreferences.userInteractionLevel = UserInteractionLevels.NEVER_INTERACT;

var myDoc = app.activeDocument;
              myDoc.viewPreferences.horizontalMeasurementUnits = MeasurementUnits.inches;
              myDoc.viewPreferences.verticalMeasurementUnits = MeasurementUnits.inches;

with(myDoc.documentPreferences){