9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2014 8:30 AM by Phani

create hyperlink for all images

Phani

Hello everyone,

I am new to scripting, but I am assuming my current task needs some scripting.

I have a catalog laid out in InDesign.  It is about 250 pages and each page has about 10 image so there are about 2500 images.  The way I have them laid out is each image is placed inside a frame.  Now, I need to hyperlink each image to an external web site.  For example, for an image whose name is (12345.jpg), the hyperlink will be "https://www.testabc.com/productdetails.aspx?itemnum=12345".  Similarly if the next item is 67890, then the hyperlink would need to be "https://www.testabc.com/productdetails.aspx?itemnum=67890".  All images are linked to a folder on the computer.

Can you please suggest how best to write and run this script.  Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

• 1. Re: create hyperlink for all images
          BEGINNER_X Level 3

Hi Phani,

Below is your code,

var myDoc = app.activeDocument;

var  myGr = app.activeDocument.allGraphics;

alert(myGr.length)

try{
              for(i=0; i<myGr.length; i++)
              {
                  var myGrName = String(myGr[i].itemLink.name);

var mySplitName = myGrName.split(".")[0];

app.select(myGr[i].parent)

myHyperlinkPageItemSource =  app.activeDocument.hyperlinkPageItemSources.add(app.selection[0])

var myHyperlinkURLDestination = app.activeDocument.hyperlinkURLDestinations.add(String(myGr[i].itemLink.name));

var myHyperlink = app.activeDocument.hyperlinks.add(myHyperlinkPageItemSource, myHyperlinkURLDestination, {name: "https://www.testabc.com/productdetails.aspx?itemnum=" + String(mySplitName)})  

}
              }
          catch(e){}

alert("Process Completed")

Regards

Siraj

• 2. Re: create hyperlink for all images
            Phani Level 1

Hello Siraj,

Thanks for the code.