7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2014 1:26 PM by A.T. Romano

convert prel to avi

staninvancouver

I am new to Premier. How do I convert the PREL format into an AVI?

• 1. Re: convert prel to avi
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

A prel is a Premiere Elements project file. An AVI is a media file. They're two very different things.

But you can output an AVI from a Premiere Elements project. How you do it depends on which version of the program you're using and on what operating system you're working.

If you're using version 13 on Windows, you go to Publish & Share/Computer/AVI.

However it's worth noting that there are dozens of types of AVI, so which AVI codec you use depends on how you plan to use the file you're outputting.

In other words, those are the general steps. But we'll need a lot more details from you in order to give a specific answer.

Does that help?

By the way, if you'd like some basic information on Premiere Elements and how it works, you may want to check out my free 8 part Basic Training tutorial series.

Premiere Elements Basic Training

• 2. Re: convert prel to avi
            staninvancouver Level 1

Thank you Steve. I have Premier 12. That option does not exist.

When I go to Publish Share there are six options from Private Web to Mobile. No SAVE AS or Convert to AVI.

I have already purchased three Adobe products over the past few years so upgrading to 13 is not going to happen

Any ideas what I should try next?

I assumed it would be an automatic and simple process. Perhaps I am in the wrong screen.

Cheers from Vancouver

• 3. Re: convert prel to avi

Assuming you are working on a Windows computer (you still haven't said), you need to go to Publish & Share and then select the Computer option, as I said earlier.

In the set of Computer outputs you will find the AVI output listed.

But, as I've said, which AVI output you use depends on how you're going to use the AVI you output.

• 4. Re: convert prel to avi