2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2014 8:30 PM by animationlife

3D Camera Tracker and Effects

animationlife Level 1

Hello Everyone.

I have noticed when using Tracking with 3D Camera Tracker, and having effects, It dose not work well. So what we have to do when using Camera Tracker and Effects ? Maybe using a Precomp  and apply Effects, and Track ?

Also, I used The Foundry Camera Tracker many times, and I noticed the After Effects 3D Camera Tracker did a better job.

Off course,  I am very new to Tracking.

Thank you very much.

• 1. Re: 3D Camera Tracker and Effects
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The proper workflow for most tracking is to track the original shot then use the tracking information to control something else. In the case of 3D camera tracking you apply the data to a camera and position a reference layer in the scene.

In some cases, where there is a lack of detail or the tracked object can be better defined by the addition of things like Color Correction effects you would apply the effect, pre-compose or pre-render to a lossless DI and then track the modified shot. Generally you would not use this modified shot in your production, you just want the tracking data.

On rare occasions there are compression artifacts or Intra Frame compression problems with the original footage that you will only get a successful track if you render the original to a lossless DI before tracking. You also need to render a DI if your original codec is not compatible with the tracker. Mocha is very sensitive to highly comprised formats and the Warp Stabilizer (a form of tracking) and AE's other trackers may also not like highly compressed originals either.