7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2007 2:44 AM by Yann Martel

A beginner's problem

Yann Martel
      Hello everybody !

I'm new to the flex technology and I have a little problem.

quote:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application
      xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml"
      horizontalAlign="center" verticalAlign="center"
      >

<mx:Image id="img1" source="@Embed('images.jpg')" />
      <mx:Image id="img2" source="images.jpg" />

</mx:Application>

When I compile this code with the mxmlc and test it, the first image is displayed, but not the second one.
      I don't think there is a problem with the code itself, so I'm probably doing something wrong:

- maybe I'm not using the good compilation command "mxmlc --strict=true -use-network=false --file-specs testimage.mxml"

- I'm not testing it properly (I simply use the swf file with opera, maybe I should embed it in a html file before ?)

I know this is a dumb problem, but if someone could explain to me what I'm doing wrong, that would be nice.
        • 1. Re: A beginner's problem
          ringx007
          make the image in the same folder as your Application
          • 2. Re: A beginner's problem
            Yann Martel Level 1
            That's not the problem, my image is in the right folder and the embedded one is displayed just fine.

I've downloaded FlexBuilder (trial) and I get the same result when I try the swf that is created. However if I use the .html it works. So I guess the problem comes from my way of testing.

Anyone knows how to create the .html docs without flex builder ? I couldn't find any information about it.
            • 3. Re: A beginner's problem
              ntsiii Level 3
              I believe that setting -use-network=false is a mistake. It prevents you from having a web app and requires you to install physically to the file system.

Why are you using it? Relative urls work just fine.

Tracy
              • 4. Re: A beginner's problem