6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2014 7:32 AM by _spoboyle

why can't I import spark package into AS3 file

astroair

it creates error saying cannot find definition matching spark.* ... what am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: why can't I import spark package into AS3 file
          _spoboyle Level 4

its difficult to help with so little information.

You are creating a flex application and you are trying to create an AS3 class?

What IDE if any are you using, what does your build path look like?

Where is the Flex sdk you have installed?

• 2. Re: why can't I import spark package into AS3 file
            astroair Level 1

trying to build iOS app... obviously, I am new to flash builder... a little frustrated... I have extensive programming experience... the online support is pretty good... but, having issues with some key areas... and, it is really hard to always continue trying to search for the answer.

I have created an action script project... I followed the instructions as though I am creating an iPhone app... not sure what else I need to do to be able to import the spark package...

Probably a better question... is there somewhere I can go for a thorough overview of Flash builder and AS3?  The tutorials are just not thorough enough... I have basic architecture questions... really wish there was a phone number I could call to ask some general questions...

• 3. Re: why can't I import spark package into AS3 file
              Flex harUI Adobe Employee

Spark is part of the Flex SDK which is a framework like Microsoft’s Foundation Classes.

In Flash Builder you create either ActionScript projects or Flex projects.  A Flex project has the Spark components as part of the set of libraries.  An ActionScript project does not.  It assumes you are going to build a project pretty much without using Flex SDK classes.