8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2014 2:53 AM by areohbee

Searchable text fields are returning the wrong results.

gazzaplus

Hi,

LR v5.6

I'm doing a text search, ctrl f. The search word is "hot" looking for "hot air balloon" in 1100 photos. Results--[contains,contains all] returns 1100 photos, [contains word] 1 photo, the photo I want. "Hot" is part of the word photo, nowhere have I entered the word photo in any of the searchable fields, why then does LR find the word photo?

As I'm new to LR and  in the process of cataloging all my holiday photos, I've only imported a few photos to experiment with. My real aim is in the distant future, be able to find photos based on a text search, yes I did get the result I wanted, but I'm concerned as the only entry I have made in only one photo in the User Comment Field---Hot Air Balloon.

I'ts unfortunate, or may be not that out of 1100 photos of an African Safari I pick a photo of a hot air balloon to do my testing.

The experimenting continues.

Gazza

• 1. Re: Searchable text fields are returning the wrong results.
          johnrellis Most Valuable Participant

LR text search is not great -- it's missing obvious features, it's hard to remember exactly what it does, and it's buggy.  I suggest you read this section of the Help: Lightroom Help | Finding photos in the catalog .

In particular, Any Searchable Field includes many fields that are not immediately visible in the user interface, such as the file path (containing folders), containing collections, and many metadata fields.  If any one of those fields contains the string "hot" anywhere, the photo will match.

Also, if you use "contains words hot", that will match "hot air balloon" but not any fields containing "photo".

• 2. Re: Searchable text fields are returning the wrong results.
            areohbee Level 5

Hi Gazza,