5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2007 12:14 PM by kglad

Variable / If Problem

Surly
      Okay, I'm hoping this is a simple question with a glaring error... I'm new to using variables.

Basically I have a menu and the first button (could be any button on the menu) to be clicked should go to a label in another movie clip which has a graphic tween to a different color.

I want this "color change" only to happen the first time a user clicks one of any of these buttons.

So, I've created a variable on the first frame of the entire movie and set it to "0":

var x:Number;
      var x = 0;
      trace("x is now " + x);

I believe I'm good up to this point as the output is fine. Then in the next scene, nested fairly deep in some other movie clips I have my menu and I'm testing this on the first button:

on (release) {
      if (x = 0) {
      mc_floorplan_color.gotoAndPlay("color_change");
      var x = 1;
      trace("var is " + x);
      }
      }

It is not working at all. In my mind x is equal to zero at this point and it should follow through with everything below it, setting x to 1 so the color change wont happen on the other buttons.

I'm pretty sure the problem isn't with going into the other movie clip and getting to the label, I tried pointing it just to start the movie over again and still got no response and also no output.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

• 1. Re: Variable / If Problem
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          you have a scope problem. x is defined on one timeline and flash is checking another for the variable x.

further, it's not necessary to define x prior to your button being pressed. you can use:

• 2. Re: Variable / If Problem
            Surly Level 1
            Thanks for the help.

They are true buttons, each just moves the timeline to a label. Your code works and there don't seem to be any issues. It changes color on only the first button pressed.