5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2007 6:49 AM by Fred in Orlando

Complex Array/Objects in Datagrid

Tom_at_etr
      Hi,

I'm a complete noob to all this but I have a somewhat complex array.....and I know my arrays will only get more complex.

I can get a single row by putting this as the data provider: {dataProvider[0]['Time']}
      Or, this: {dataProvider[1]['Time']}

BUT... I want multiple rows in my data grid. I can't seem to figure out how to achieve this.

Simply putting {dataProvider} returns [object Object] ... putting in {dataProvider[1]} will also return [object Object] .... this is provided my dataFields are specified correctly of course for each level.

Flash sees these as Objects, it barks at me for trying to convert them to ArrayCollection or anything else.

I try to make a new array even of just the dataProvider[0]['Time'] entries by specifying newArray[0] = dataProvider[0]['Time'] ... etc. or by trying newArray.push(dataProvider[0]['Article']) ... but this is inside a function (for my remote connection) and I can't get the array back to the public space for use in my data grid... or I'll get an error about not being able to make an object into an array.

Any clues?? This sounds like such a simple thing ... and of course I found out you can't simply put a statement to loop inside the dataprovider... which would make it super easy.... so what's up?

Thanks.

Here's the structure of my array by the way (returned with amfphp) .. which will probably not be indented, sorry.

Array
      (
      [0] => Array
      (
      [Time] => Array
      (
      [id] => 1
      [created] => 2007-02-25
      [time] => 10
      [notes] => hours (10)
      [project_id] => 1
      [user_id] => 1
      )
      [Project] => Array
      (
      [id] => 1
      [name] => Test Project #1
      [created] => 2007-02-25
      [due] => 2007-02-28
      )
      [User] => Array
      (
      [id] => 1
      [username] => admin
      )
      )

[1] => Array
      (