5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2007 3:00 AM by pandxsg

creating for loop for a boolean

pandxsg
      Hi,

I'm still a beginner to AS so pardon me if this may sound simple...

I've created 16 booleans with all set to false.

Now with a for loop, I'm trying to create 16 buttons, and when each button is pressed, the respective boolean relative to that button will change to true. Looks something as below:

Somehow, this doesn't work...can someone point out the error in this coding? Thanks very much!

• 1. Re: creating for loop for a boolean
          Level 7
          Couple things...

It's standard for a button to work onRelease, not onPress.

this - within your onPress function is referring to the button. Not the root
          timeline like you probably want to target. The real problem though, is the
          reference to i within the button. If you do a trace(i); within the onPress
          you'll find every button will trace out 17. That is because the button does
          not keep a local reference to i - all button are just referencing the final
          value of i on the main timeline... it's called scope. Sometimes scope issues
          can be a real challenge.What you need to do is create a local variable
          within the buttons and store i in that variable.

for (var i = 1; i <= 16; i++) {
          this["button" + i].i = i;
          this["button" + i].onPress = function() {
          this._parent["status" + this.i] = true;
          }
          }

--
          Dave -
          Head Developer
          www.blurredistinction.com
          Adobe Community Expert
          http://www.adobe.com/communities/experts/

• 2. Re: creating for loop for a boolean
            pandxsg Level 1
            Thanks for the help, it works like a charm! Your explanation is very clear also, however for one part I do not understand:

What is the purpose of "_parent" here? Will this["status" + this.i] = true; not work?