5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 21, 2014 10:29 AM by SebastiaanFP

Which Mac?

paula@iluvsoul.com

Hi there, wanted to ask some advice regarding hardware.

My Macbook Pro (early 2011 model) died last week (logic board), I knew it was on it's way out but hoped it would last until the new year. So I'm looking into my options.

I'm sticking with a Mac, I'm a freelance graphic designer as well as film maker and have to go into agencies to help out they all are on Mac platforms so that is a definite.

I'd say I was a heavy user...

Graphic design/photo editing, - Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Illustrator, Indesign.

Video editing (ML Raw, 2k and 4k footage, Canon 7D/C100/C300, Red Dragon) - Premiere Pro. Rendering for online and theatrical use, projects from five minutes to 60.

Basic After Effects use.

All latest Adobe CC 2014 (8.1)

I’ll also have a Thunderbolt storage system and a 30" Cinema display.

I was all set to take the plunge with the new MacPro, then the 5k iMac popped up. I don't have as much budget as I'd liked to drop on it, but need a new machine urgently. So I'm looking at these two option;

iMac 5k

4.0Ghz i7

16GB RAM

256 Flash

AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4GB

Mac Pro

3.7Ghz

12GB RAM

256GB Flash

Dual AMD FirePro D300 GPU 2GB

RAM I'd be looking to upgrade both options to 32GB in the near future.

So wondering if anyone had any pointers, mainly with the type of video work and camera's I'm using as that was holding me back with my old system. Either of these will be more than enough for the graphic design/photo editing I do.

Thanks in advance.

P.

• 1. Re: Which Mac?
          IE Film Studios Level 1