2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2014 8:44 AM by bogiesan

A few questions about After Effects and CGI (Computer-generated Imagery)

pek859

Hi,

I'm very new to After Effects and this forum. But I have a few questions.

Now, I have recently started a movie project with my friend at a workshop. It's an action/sci-fi film and I'm probably going to be the editor and if needed in charge of visual and/or special effects. This sounds like a pretty big job for a noob, but we don't have a time limit with the project so there's time to learn.

But to my questions. I've thought of introducing CGI to myself (very simple of course). I've studied the use of blender, and I think I'll use it for the modelling and animation. But should Ae be used in any stage of producing the CGI or should everything be done in blender? If I do, how? Am I going in the wrong direction (wrong kind of software, etc.)?

Also, I'm not talking of fully producing the scene with the computer, but adding things like characters or items, maybe special effects.

I'm hoping for an answer to all my questions, but if you have just one or two answers I'm happy to hear them too. You're also welcome to correct me if I've misunderstood something. Please ask for further specifications if you need any!

• 1. Re: A few questions about After Effects and CGI (Computer-generated Imagery)
          bogiesan Level 4

pek859 wrote:

1. I'm very new to After Effects and this forum. But I have a few questions.

2. Now, I have recently started a movie project with my friend at a workshop. It's an action/sci-fi film and I'm probably going to be the editor and if needed in charge of visual and/or special effects. This sounds like a pretty big job for a noob, but we don't have a time limit with the project so there's time to learn.