6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2014 8:56 AM by markerline

Rollover audio in Edge Animate

C Trip

I have created a rollover button which I've imported to Muse. The idea is that the button has an image of thunder which flashes when you rollover with the mouse and there is an audio of thunder over it.

At the moment as planned when I mouseover the audio sounds and the image animates too. Again, as planned the audio and animation stop when the mouse leaves.

BUT then when I mouseover again the image animates, but the audio doesn't work.

How can I make the audio happen every time I mouseover?

(I am a complete Edge animate novice, but am feeling very smug that I have got this far!)

• 1. Re: Rollover audio in Edge Animate
          markerline Level 4

Edge uses Javascript for control of such things as Audio so it could be, as is the case with Flash and ActionScript (another ECMAScript Language) that you have to initialize a new instance of the Sound object whenever you want the effect to repeat itself as is the case in your mouse-over.  Not quite sure but I'm giving it an educated guess as to what could be going wrong.  I hope to learn more Javascript in the future as Flash transitions to Edge.

• 2. Re: Rollover audio in Edge Animate
            C Trip Level 1

Thanks for the reply. As I said I'm a complete novice, so if you are correct, what does this mean in practice? Do I have to alter some setting in the file?

• 3. Re: Rollover audio in Edge Animate
              markerline Level 4

You might have to write a line or two of JavaScript Code in the editor.  In Flash to write ActionScript you use the Actions Panel.  There must be something similar in the Edge interface where you can reveal and edit the JavaScript code.  Check out some of the tutorials on AdobeTV if they have any.  I'm sure you could also find something on YouTube or in the Help Documentation.

• 4. Re: Rollover audio in Edge Animate
                C Trip Level 1